You are here:   Home > Announcement Details
Register   |  Login

Allows conscientious belief exemptions to vaccination for school students in MS

Location: MS
Title: Allows conscientious belief exemptions to vaccination for school students in MS
Identifier: HB 130
Stance: SUPPORT
Action Required: None at this time
Status: Died on the calendar 2/12/15

Description:

UPDATE: 2/14/2015 - HB 130 died on the calendar on Feb. 12, 2015. 

UPDATE: 2/4/2015 - HB 130 was heard by the Education Committee on 2/3/2014.  The original version of the bill was substituted with a new version and passed.  While the new version does not include a religious or conscientious belief exemption, it does allow medical exemptions to be written by the child's MD or DO who is registered and licensed to practice medicine in the United States.  Also, the opinion of the physician who signed the certificate is final and may be not  contradicted or rejected by the local health officer or the State Department of Health, and the school to which the certificate is presented must accept the certificate. 

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/documents/2015/pdf/HB/0100-0199/HB0130CS.pdf - substitute passed by the Education Committee

http://www.clarionledger.com/story/politicalledger/2015/02/03/vaccine-exempt-passes-house-ed/22824411/ - news article about the bill

Contact your Mississippi House Member and ask them to support HB 130 when it comes up for a vote by the full house. 


UPDATE: 1/14/2015 - The Mississippi Day at the Capitol hosted by the Mississippi Parents for Vaccine Rights and the NVIC Mississippi State Director for NVIC went well. 

Mississippi NVIC Advocacy Team Members need to continue to contact members of the Education Committee and ask those members if they would be a cosponsor for HB 130.  

For more information from Mississippi Parents for Vaccine Rights - http://bethevoice.typepad.com/  

Contact information for the House Education Committee:

Mississippi House Education Committee Members, 2015

Representative

Email

Capitol Phone

 

Legislative Web Site, includes additional contact information

John L. Moore, Chairman

 jmoore@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3330

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/moore.xml

Alyce G. Clarke, Vice-Chairman

 aclarke@house.ms.gov

(601)359-9465

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/clarke.xml

William Tracy Arnold

warnold@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2438 

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/arnold.xml

Nick Bain

nbain@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3338

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/bain.xml

Mark Baker, Co-sponsor HB 130

mbaker@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3388

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/baker.xml

Toby Barker

tbarker@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3362

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/barker.xml

Randy P. Boyd

rboyd@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2435

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/boyd.xml

Clara Burnett

 cburnett@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2422

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/burnett.xml

Charles Busby

cbusby@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3373

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/busby.xml

Credell Calhoun

ccalhoun@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2429

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/calhoun.xml

Gary Chism

gchism@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3364

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/chism.xml

Carolyn Crawford

ccrawford@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2430

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/crawford.xml

Becky Currie

 bcurrie@house.ms.gov

(601)359-5334

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/currie.xml

Dennis DeBar

ddebar@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2436

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/debar.xml

Reecy L. Dickson

rdickson@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2433

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/dickson.xml

Chuck Espy

cespy@gmail.com

(601)359-9391

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/espy.xml

James Evans

 jevans@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2461

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/evans_(70th).xml

Mark Formby – sponsor HB 130

 mformby@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3359

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/formby.xml

Herb Frierson

None listed

(601)359-3340

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/frierson.xml

Jeffrey S. Guice

jguice@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2508

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/guice.xml

Eugene Forrest Hamilton

efhamilton@house.ms.gov

(601)359-4075

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/hamilton.xml

Gregory Holloway

gholloway@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2435

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/holloway.xml

Wanda Jennings

wjennings@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3327

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/jennings.xml

Rita Martinson

rmartinson@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3131

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/martinson.xml

Steve Massengill

smassengill@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3338

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/massengill.xml

Brad Mayo

bmayo@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2431

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/mayo.xml

Pat Nelson

pnelson@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3339

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/nelson.xml

Rufus Straughter

rstraughter@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2421

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/straughter.xml

Sara R. Thomas

 sthomas@house.ms.gov

(601)359-2845

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/thomas.xml

Joseph L. Warren

jwarren@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3014

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/warren.xml

Tom Weathersby

tweathersby@house.ms.gov

(601)359-3336

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/house/weathersby.xml

 

 jmoore@house.ms.gov ;  aclarke@house.ms.gov ; warnold@house.ms.gov ; nbain@house.ms.gov ; mbaker@house.ms.gov ;tbarker@house.ms.gov ; rboyd@house.ms.gov ;  cburnett@house.ms.gov ; cbusby@house.ms.gov ;   ccalhoun@house.ms.gov ;   gchism@house.ms.gov ; ccrawford@house.ms.gov ;  bcurrie@house.ms.gov ; ddebar@house.ms.gov ;    rdickson@house.ms.gov ; cespy@gmail.com ;  mformby@house.ms.gov ; jguice@house.ms.gov ; efhamilton@house.ms.gov ;wjennings@house.ms.gov ;     rmartinson@house.ms.gov  ; smassengill@house.ms.gov ;  bmayo@house.ms.gov ;pnelson@house.ms.gov ;   rstraughter@house.ms.gov ;    sthomas@house.ms.gov ; jwarren@house.ms.gov ;tweathersby@house.ms.gov

*******************


Dear Mississippi NVIC Advocacy Team Members,

Great News! You have a bill adding a conscientious exemption and expanding a medical exemption in Mississippi! 

We need you! Please join Mississippi NVIC Advocacy director and Mississippi Parents for Vaccine Rights Co-director Mary Jo Perry at the state capitol Thursday to support the bill that will give parents in Mississippi proper vaccine exemptions! We are so sorry for the late notice as the bill was just posted.  Please do what you can to show up and help visit legislators to ask them for support for the bill.  



When:   THURSDAY JANUARY 8th 2015  

                 9 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. 



Where:  MS State Capitol  

                 400 High Street 

                 Jackson, MS 39201

For Details http://bethevoice.typepad.com/my-blog/2014/12/mpvr-lobby-day-at-the-capitol.html

HB 130 was introduced on Jan. 6, 2015 and referred to the House Education Committee.  The bill is sponsored by Representative Mark Formby and co-sponsored by Representatives Angela Cockerham, Chris Brown and Mark Baker.  The bill will add a conscientious belief exemption to vaccination for school students in MS.  The bill also will allow any licensed physician (M.D or D.O.) who has examined the child to sign a medical exemption if, in that physician's opinion, the required vaccine is medically contraindicated or poses a significant risk to the health and well‐being of the child or any member of the child's household.

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/2015/pdf/history/HB/HB0130.xml - history and status for HB 130

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/documents/2015/html/HB/0100-0199/HB0130IN.htm - text of HB 130 

Please attend to show your support and stay in touch to find out how you can continue to support this historic bill!



The National Vaccine Information Center (NVIC) works diligently to prepare and disseminate our legislative advocacy action alerts and supporting materials.  We request that organizations and members of the public forward our alerts in their original form to assure consistent and accurate messaging and effective action. Please acknowledge NVIC as originators of this work when forwarding to members of the public and like-minded organizations. To receive alerts immediately, register  at http://NVICAdvocacy.org, a website dedicated to this sole purpose and provided as a free public service by NVIC.

HB 130 was introduced on Jan. 6, 2015 and referred to the House Education Committee.  The bill is sponsored by Representative Mark Formby and co-sponsored by Representatives Angela Cockerham, Chris Brown and Mark Baker.  The bill will add a conscientious belief exemption to vaccination for school students in MS.  The bill also will allow any licensed physician (M.D or D.O.) who has examined the child to sign a medical exemption if, in that physician's opinion, the required vaccine is medically contraindicated or poses a significant risk to the health and well‐being of the child or any member of the child's household.

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/2015/pdf/history/HB/HB0130.xml - history and status for HB 130

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/documents/2015/html/HB/0100-0199/HB0130IN.htm - text of HB 130